Life in the big city, and everything in between.

China North Dumpling

In Food on October 12, 2011 at 9:04 pm

I have tried many dumpling places in NYC and China North is by far my favorite! Besides serving heavenly dumplings, the prices are unbeatable. I don’t think there is anything on the menu for more than $5 dollars.

Once you have eaten at China North you will never be able to walk by without stopping. I actually went out of my way to have some delicious pillows of joy! I even left with two huge bags of frozen dumplings to store in my freezer for later.

The pork and chive dumplings are ridiculously good. They are encased in this light, tender, paper thin dough that’s neither sticky nor too chewy. The dumplings are so well seasoned on the inside that you don’t need to drench them in soy sauce. Once you take a bite a small amount of savory juice drizzles out.  They are perfect alone or with an equal amount of soy and hot sauce, which is the way I like them.

I had a very nice lady serve me my handmade dumplings which made for an even better experience. Especially after I messed my order up once. But that wasn’t a concern because my dumplings were ready in a blink of an eye.  I am not lying when I say I devoured all eight of my dumplings in a matter of minutes.

And for the vegetarians, yes they do have vegetable dumplings. They are also fantastic! Bursting with flavors, so much so that I was even burping it up hours later in spinning class…

China North is a hole in the wall but it’s a cheap eat! You can either eat here, take out or buy the frozen ones to go. You must buy the frozen ones to go! Trust me, you’ll thank me later. And please, don’t be fooled by the run down interior. The dumplings here are worth the trip and it won’t hurt your wallet.

 

27 Essex St
Ste A
(between Hester St & Grand St)
New York, NY 10002
Neighborhoods: Chinatown, Lower East Side

(212) 529-2760

Leave a Reply

