Life in the big city, and everything in between.

TFI Special Legacy Celebration Quincy Jones Tribute

In Entertainment on April 29, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Robert de Niro, Grace Hightower, and Quincy Jones at Hiro Ballroom (photo courtesy of seattlepi.com)

Last night the Tribeca Film Festival held a special tribute at the Maritime Hotel’s Hiro Ballroom to honor the legendary Academy Award and Grammy Award winner Quincy Jones. He was celebrated for his contributions to cinema, music, and his philanthropic efforts across the globe. I was lucky enough to not only be there but have a rare opportunity to speak with Mr. Jones. Here is how the brief but memorable conversation went…

QJ: Excuse me. Can I ask where you are from?

ME: Well I was raised in Louisiana.

QJ: No, where were you born?

ME: Originally I am from Iran.

QJ: I knew that.

ME: (already in shock) Really?!

QJ: Yes, you know I have been to Tehran many years ago probably before your parents were even born.

ME: Wow you could tell I was Persian!  That’s amazing! (at this point I am gasping)

QJ: Kheyli mamnoon (this means “thank you very much in Farsi)

ME: You said that perfectly!

Then he gave me a fist dap (really!) and I was on my way. What a nice man. I know I am probably making a bigger deal out of this than it is but come on he is a legend! Just the fact that I was a pure stranger to him and he took the time to acknowledge me was something else. Every kind word anyone has said about him is true, he is the most admirable, passionate, and humane person. Mr. Jones is quite a legend and I am so fortunate to have met him.

Okay now that I have rambled on here is a clip from his speech last night:

Multi-platinum singer, songwriter and producer Al B. Sure (Albert Jason Brown III) made his mark as one of New Jack Swing’s most romantic singers and producers. Last night he paid special tribute to Quincy Jones by performing for him. In 1987, Quincy selected Brown as the first winner of the Sony Innovators Talent Search. Subsequently, Brown went on to work with Jones on several projects. Here is a clip from his performance last night:

  1. Sis, this is SOOO cool!! I’m jealous!

Leave a Reply

