Life in the big city, and everything in between.

Tasty Hand-Pulled Noodles

In Food on January 30, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Doyer street in Chinatown is the location of a hidden gem, Tasty Hand-Pulled Noodles. Off this side street isn’t just a hole in the wall, but a true Chinatown staple. This place is tiny, with just about a dozen seats, but the menu is larger than life! If you are lucky enough to get a view from the kitchen then you can witness quite a show. The noodle-puller (if that’s what you call him) slamming the dough so vigorously and then stretching it until it becomes these long thin strands.

You know this place is legit when everything is made to order. As I waited eagerly I found myself in a zone. I could hear the banging of my noodles and the wonderful aroma in the air.

My seafood noodles finally arrived. They were amazing! Probably one of the best I have ever had. The ingredients are fresh and basic. The broth is savory and soothing but the real star of the meal are the noodles. Aah the noodles…the perfect texture of soft and chewy.

I was even shocked at how incredibly large my mussels were. They were so plump and fresh. There was some other stuff in it to, like fish-balls, shrimp, crab, and oysters. Hungry yet?

Tasty Hand-Pulled Noodles provides a container of cilantro on the table which you can garnish on everything. And of course I just about dumped the whole tub in my noodle soup. I also love anything spicy so of course I added a dollop of hot sauce as well. If I were alone in the restaurant I would have literally funneled the entire soup into my mouth. Let’s just say I did some damage in a very short amount of time.

This place is super authentic, very tasty, and the price is unbeatable. Just sit back, eat away, and  listen to the soothing sounds of hand pulled noodles being whacked against the table.

 

1 Doyers St
(between Bowery & Chatham Sq)
New York, NY 10013
Neighborhoods: Chinatown, Civic Center

(212) 791-1817

map it

Leave a Reply

