Life in the big city, and everything in between.

Wafels on Wheels

In Food on August 23, 2010 at 11:41 pm

On my way to dinner a few nights ago I had some time to kill so I decided to take a detour through the South Street Seaport. As I was walking in the midst of this tourist trap I came across a yellow Belgium wafel truck. Low and behold it was Wafels & Dinges! I had heard of them before from watching them on Throwdown with Bobby Flay so I knew I was in for a treat. The girl who was working the truck was super helpful and nice.  She suggested I order the liege wafel with fresh whipped cream, spekuloos spread, and powdered sugar on top. It was unbelievably delicious! Crisp on the outside and soft and pillowy on the inside. The wafel was served nice and warm with just the right amount of whipped cream on top. This definitely was like no waffle I have ever had before. Why haven’t I tried this sooner? The Wafels & Dinges truck is permanently located in the South Street Seaport on the corner of Fulton and Font streets.  You can also check their website to find out what the location of their next stop will be. And for those of you who don’t live in New York not to worry. You can shop online for products like their world famous Spekuloos spread (looks like peanut butter but tastes like a cinnamon cookie) or their Brussels and Liege at home wafel kits.

Do yourself a favor the next time you have a sweet tooth and head to the yellow truck!

  1. ohhh this looks really good. must try it sometime. maybe we can go together! 😀

Leave a Reply

