Life in the big city, and everything in between.

L & B Spumoni Garden

In Food on August 19, 2010 at 6:29 am

After an hour and a half on the train, I arrive to Bensonhurst in Brooklyn.  I step off the train only to find myself in an unfamiliar territory. It was everything you would have imagined. Tree lined streets, cozy neighborhood homes, and no sound of the hustle and bustle of Manhattan for miles. As I approached this pizzeria paradise I couldn’t help but feel like a little girl again. I immediately joined the long line of Brooklynites in anticipation. I could have ordered everything on the menu. But I came with a purpose and that purpose was called the “Sicilian”. I ordered the Sicilian pie (square) 12 slices but if I could have done it all over again I would have opted for the 24 slice.  It was a beautiful sunny day so I sat outside, although there is inside eating as well. I opened the box and immediately grabbed a corner slice. The crust was crisp and slightly burned on the edges. The bread was exquisitely soft and not too chewy. It almost felt airy. The mozzarella was perfectly melted and topped with the sweet red sauce and parmesan.  The mix of flavors and textures were unforgettable. I knew I had to save room for the namesake of this food landmark. My next treat was called the Spumoni. This molded Italian ice cream was layered with different colors and flavors (chocolate,vanilla, and pistachio).  It was a good blend of ice and cream you could say. Good thing I was sitting outdoors because this delectable treat practically melts in your hand. All in all my field trip was a success. Would I do it again? Absolutely.

2725 86th Street
Brooklyn, NY 11223-3507
(718) 449-1230

Leave a Reply

